Homemade Peppermint Patties

I hope that everyone is enjoying this cooler winter weather! I haven’t shared a recipe on here in awhile and I thought this would be a great one. I love the taste of cool, fresh mint during this time of year and I have always loved peppermint patties! It’s great to be able to make them homemade too. I haven’t tried this recipe out myself yet, but I plan to soon. Let me know if you do and how you like them!

Homemade Peppermint Patties

1 box (1 pound) confectioner’s sugar
3 Tablespoons butter, softened
2 to 3 teaspoons peppermint extract
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup evaporated milk
2 cups (12 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips
2 Tablespoons shortening


In a bowl, combine first four ingredients. Add milk and mix well.
Roll into 1-in. balls and place on a waxed paper-lined cookie sheet.
Chill for 20 minuets. Flatten with a glass to 1/4 in.; chill for 30
minutes. In a double boiler or microwave safe bowl, melt
chocolate chips and shortening. Dip patties; place on waxed
paper to harden. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

