Hymns in Our Hearts: Blessed Assurance

Blessed Assurance was written by the much beloved American hymn writer Fanny Crosby. Though blinded at six weeks of age, she wrote over 8,000 hymns and several books. This hymn came about in a very interesting way. The story goes that a friend of Miss Crosby’s had composed a tune and after playing it a few times for Fanny, asked her what it said. Fanny at once replied, ” Blessed Assurance, Jesus is mine!” Miss Crosby died at the age of 95 in her home in Connecticut.

Blessed Assurance has always been one of my very favorite hymns and one that always seems to left my spirits when I sing it. It has a very wonderful melody and the words are so full of the hope of seeing our Lord in Heaven one day as well as giving us a wonderful sense of how privileged we are to serve Him on Earth right now. It is not hard to understand why so many people call it there favorite hymn! I hope that you will commit this one to memory and let it be your jubilant thankful prayer!

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!
O what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

Refrain

This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior, all the day long;
This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior, all the day long.

Perfect submission, perfect delight,
Visions of rapture now burst on my sight;
Angels descending bring from above
Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.

Refrain

Perfect submission, all is at rest
I in my Savior am happy and blest,
Watching and waiting, looking above,
Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.

Refrain

Leave a Reply

