Dutch Apple Pie

Apple pie is just perfect for this time of year and so I wanted to share my favorite recipe. This is my family’s favorite autumn treat, I think! I found the recipe when I was about 12 and have been making it ever since! It is super easy and lends itself well to adaptions. Enjoy!

Crust:

2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup quick cooking oats

Filling:

2/3 cup sugar
3 Tbsp. cornstarch or flour
1 1/4 cup water
3 cups diced, peeled apples (I like Granny Smiths)
1 tsp. vanilla
2 tsp. cinnamon

Combine the first four ingredients; set aside 1 cup for topping. Press remaining crumb mixture into a greased 9 in. pie plate; set aside. For the filling, combine the first 3 ingredients in a saucepan until smooth; bring to a boil. Cook and stir for 1 minute or until thickened. Remove from heat and stir in the apples, vanilla and cinnamon. Pour into crust; top with reserved crumb mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until crust is golden brown. And then let me know how you like it! 🙂

Picking the fruit of the season

2 thoughts on “Dutch Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

