Good Reads II

Well, at the beginning of this year I asked for suggestions of topics I could write on that my readers were interested in and one of the ideas was a list of good books to read. If you are like me, you love to read and so I thought that was an excellent idea! 🙂 I have written an earlier post about this that you can find here: Good Reads  Most of these books are non-fiction though, so I thought a post about some good fiction books would be a good idea! (Disclaimer: Everyone has different standards that they have set for themselves or their parents have set for them regarding what they are allowed to read, so please remember that these are suggestions only and from my own personal preferences!)

Little Women, Eight Cousins and other stories by Louisa May Alcott
Louisa May Alcott is one of my favorite authors. Her first book, Little Women, is one of my all time favorites and a heartwarming story of family life during and after the Civil War.

The Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder
The Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder were probably some of the very first books I read. I still love there simple charm and true portrayal of American pioneers.

The Betsy-Tacy series by Maud Hart Lovelace
I read a few books from this series when I was younger and loved them! I can’t say anything for the whole series as I haven’t read them all, but they are wonderfully written.

The Secret Garden and a Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett
If you haven’t read these two books I highly recommend that you do. They both start out in the exotic location of India and then take you to England. Both of them have beautiful writing and interesting heart touching stories.

So, there are some to get you started! There are so many others I could mention, but this post would be way to long! There are so many good books out there! What are some of your favorite books to read?

2 thoughts on “Good Reads II

  1. Honestly, I don’t really read a lot of fiction any more.
    As I got older and grew out of children’s books, I struggled to finding worthwhile reading, or just a book with clean language. I still read children’s books sometimes, especially old favourites like some of the books you’ve listed above, but for intellectual stimulation I turn to adult non-fiction, esp. theology.
    I’ve just finished R.C. Sproul’s “Introduction to Reformed Theology,” and am on the last pages of Nancy Pearcey’s “Total Truth,” both of which I highly recommend!

    LOL. This all makes me sound like a complete intellectual :-). I just haven’t found any Christian adult fiction that isn’t romance!

    • Hi Rhoda,
      Yes, I tend to read non-fiction now more than I use too, but that is usually because it is something I am studying or interested in.
      I haven’t found a lot of great modern adult fiction either so I usually stick to the classics like Treasure Island, Pride and Prejudice, Sherlock Holmes or Robin Hood or something like that for my fiction reading.
      Have a blessed day 🙂

Leave a Reply

