What’s in a Name?

I was thinking about names the other day. Have you ever thought about what your name means? In ancient times, names were carefully chosen and held deep meaning for the parents of the child and often for the child themselves. I have always loved learning about the meaning behind names and the origins of names. There is something about knowing what your name means that makes it extra special. God tells us He calls us each by name and to me that is amazing to think that throughout history God knows every person’s name that ever lived!

Have you ever met somebody whose name just seemed to fit them perfectly? One of the things I have always challenged myself toward is to live up to the meaning of my name. Many names have beautiful meanings that have to do with character traits or ideals. It is great to try and live up to these special meanings. What if your name has no meaning or the meaning is obscure or not very inspiring? Well, I think that makes it even more meaningful to you. You could pick the meaning for your name yourself!

So, what does your name mean? How is it special to you?

2 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

  1. Mine is a Biblical Greek name which means “rose”.

    It has been very fitting, as, growing up, I’m often the ‘rose among the thorns’.
    I have four brothers and no sisters. Most of my first and second cousins are male, and for a few years I was the only girl in my catechism class at church.
    People will say I’m a rose among thorns without knowing what my name means 🙂

    What about your name, Candace?

    • That’s neat about your name, Rhoda! It always amazed me how our names tend to fit us so well as we get older. 🙂
      My name is a Biblical Latin name meaning “queen or shining queen”. It was a hereditary title of the queens of Ethiopia.
      After I found out what it meant, it inspired me to try and act more as a princess of God should! 🙂 Blessings!

Leave a Reply

