Hymns in Our Hearts: Nearer My God to Thee

The wonderful hymn, Nearer My God to Thee, was written by a woman by the name of Sarah Fuller Flower Adams. She was born in England and was the daughter of famous British politician Benjamin Flower. As a young woman, Sarah hoped to become an actress, but her poor health meant she had to give up that dream. She turned to writing instead. She wrote for many magazines of the day as well as many poems, hymns and a children’s catechism. She died in England at the age of 43.

This hymn is based upon the story in the Bible of Jacob’s dream as he fled to his distant relatives in Haran. The account can be found in Genesis 28:10-22 and I recommend you read it before you read the hymn below. So often the songs we sing come from the experiences of our lives and learning a hymn based upon a story from the Bible is an excellent way to remember God’s miracles!

Nearer, my God, to Thee, nearer to Thee!
E’en though it be a cross that raiseth me,
Still all my song shall be, nearer, my God, to Thee.

Refrain:
Nearer, my God, to Thee,
Nearer to Thee!

Though like the wanderer, the sun gone down,
Darkness be over me, my rest a stone.
Yet in my dreams I’d be nearer, my God to Thee.

Refrain

There let the way appear, steps unto Heav’n;
All that Thou sendest me, in mercy given;
Angels to beckon me nearer, my God, to Thee.

Refrain

Then, with my waking thoughts bright with Thy praise,
Out of my stony griefs Bethel I’ll raise;
So by my woes to be nearer, my God, to Thee.

Refrain

Or, if on joyful wing cleaving the sky,
Sun, moon, and stars forgot, upward I’ll fly,
Still all my song shall be, nearer, my God, to Thee.

Refrain

There in my Father’s home, safe and at rest,
There in my Savior’s love, perfectly blest;
Age after age to be, nearer my God to Thee.

Refrain

One thought on “Hymns in Our Hearts: Nearer My God to Thee

Leave a Reply

