What’s Your Heritage?

The word ‘heritage’ has a very interesting meaning. It means that which has been passed down to us whether it be lands, status, possessions or characteristics. It is something we have inherited by our birth into our family. A heritage use to be a very important thing. And it started me thinking about how we can learn about our own heritages even in these modern times.
Anyone who knows me, knows I have a great love for history! I love discovering new things about the past and how people lived. One of the things I enjoy the most is discovering my own roots and where I came from. My heritage if you will. By just asking and listening, I have discovered so many things I didn’t know about my family and where we came from! I love learning about my ancestors because it gives me a sense of place and a hope for the future. The stories of my family that have been passed down to me are something I am proud of and I treasure.
So, how about you? Do you know what your heritage is? Do you know where you came from and why your ancestors decided to live in the place they did? Maybe you know of a place such as a home or lands that belonged to your family. Maybe they still do! Asking our grandparents about life when they were little and having them tell you about what was important to them is one of the most amazing things! They were once living the history that we have only read about. I encourage you, young maiden, to try and learn about your own ancestors. You never know what you will learn. Some of the stories you hear will be funny, others may be sad. Some may take some digging on your own. Be adventurous for you never know what you may find!

Leave a Reply

